Then and now …

j0262718Travelling on the tram this morning, something caught my attention. I was watching this young girl in front of me typing a message on the keypad of her Iphone or mobile with just one finger. I was trying to guess her speed – no it couldn’t be faster than your average typist (40 words per minute?), but one could type fast using abbreviated text or shortform.  But is it readable? I’ve seen messages as long as your arm sent from a mobile (in a very abbreviated form such as its unreadable)!  I still haven’t mastered the art of typing fast on my mobile phone and my speed is well over 100 words per minute on a computer.

It brought back memories of when I used a manual typewriter, a stencil machine, telex machine to send out messages.  It was hard work, no shortcuts!  I guess you might be thinking how old I am, but I’m not anywhere near retirement yet!   I was thinking of the times I would type stencils to reproduce hundreds of copies.  It was a time consuming, nerve wracking ordeal, (partly due to the temperament of the machine if it was in working order that day!) requiring accuracy, skill and dexterity! 

Are we getting lazy in the habit of using abbreviated forms of typing/writing or shortcuts?  Do we need technology to get things done faster and with less effort?  Does the question of speed of transmitting data supercede the accuracy and quality of the written word/data?  And for all these time-saving devices, shouldn’t we have more time on our hands? I hear more people say there aren’t enough hours in the day to deal with work and home tasks as well.

Life is hard work, there are no short cuts.

About Mary Jordon

Professional and highly skilled Secretary, providing online help with typing. Assists clients in Australia and also USA and UK with formatting documents and transcription of audio recordings - research focus groups, academic, legal/medical. Skilled in Word Processing, Web applications, Transcriptions, Resumes, Writing letters and reports, formatting Manuals, PowerPoint Presentations, Newsletters, Blog management, Social Media management. Online Monday to Saturday xpressonline@bigpond.com.
This entry was posted in Business, PC, Virtual Assistant and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

